Day 18: 1/15/11- Mr. Stowaway Frog

I’ve never seen so much rain in my life! It has rained non stop the last two days. This means we couldn’t get out to sample fish today and had to do some lab work. Luckily, even with more downpours, the river went down a bit and I was able to get my belongings from my cabin that I was flooded out of yesterday.

It’s been so rainy, even the frogs are tired of it. We found a Red Eyed Tree Frog (Agalychnis callidryas) in the boot of one of the members of our crew. We let him go on a nice tree and he was kind enough to let us take some photos. He decided he wanted to climb to the top of the tree.

Red Eyed Tree Frog is ready!

Set!

Go!

Parkour Tree Frog.

He has to stretch after some exercise.

Red Eyed Tree Frog ready to jump.

And apparently this guy looks like a tree.

“I don’t belong here”

Back to the tree!

He’s gonna reach the peak.

Red Eyed Tree Frogs have really sticky hands that help them get a grip when they are climbing something like this.

Red Eyed Tree Frogs are extremely flexible.

This leaf looks good.

One more step and………

Nap Time!

This entry was posted in Collecting & Research Expeditions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 18: 1/15/11- Mr. Stowaway Frog

  1. Jon Bash says:

    Ive loved reading the blogs Sam. Is this trip through school? Whats your major? Sorry to ask the obvious as Im suspecting its marine biology. Amazing pictures and videos, really great stuff.

    • Sam Borstein says:

      Thanks Jon. I’m at Sacramento State University where I’m studying to be a Bio major. I do independent undergraduate research and this is one of my expeditions to research a family of fish (Cichlids) in Central America.

Leave a Reply

