Fish From Home

Last week was spring break for me and I was able to come back home to Chicago. It’s always nice to be back home. One thing I like to do when I get back is take a look at the fish my dad is keeping in the fish room.

Apistogramma agissizi

I love predatory Malawi cichlids and Buccochromis rhoadessi fits the bill. It’s a beautiful pursuit predator.

Buccochromis rhoadesii

Buccochromis rhoadesii

One of the most interesting species my dad is working with right now is Astatheros nourissati. These fish are super fun to watch as they are extremely active, constantly searching the substrate for food.

Astatheros nourissati sifting through the sand

I recently gave my dad a large wild pair of Cryptoheros siquia which he has spawned. It’s a beautiful convict type that shows very interesting parental care.

Cryptoheros siquia "Rio Cabuyo, Costa Rica" in breeding color guarding fry

One of my favorite fish is the Flier Cichlid, Archocentrus centrarchus.

Archocentrus centrarchus

Another very cool species back home is Caquetaia myersi. This large, predatory fish is an attractive yellow color and are an impressive sight to see hunt.

Caquetaia myersi

Caquetaia myersi. Can you tell this is a predatory species. They have quite an impressive mouth.

This entry was posted in Fish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fish From Home

  1. Bill Bauta says:

    Dear Mr. Borstein,

    I read a lot of your profiles and was rather surprised on your description of Placidochromis milomo. Mine is about 7 inches. He grew up in a mixed tank with mbuna, including some moderately aggressive varieties, and is very much the dominant fish. He has killed other haps in the past and I have given up on adding more. Although he is not territorial, he chases the other fish regularly and is feared by Labeotropheus, Maylandias, and pseudotropheus. A larger tank is in the plans for him and some larger haps. I plan on a video that I will post on the internet in the near future.

  2. Sam Borstein says:

    I’ve never written a profile on Placidochromis milomo, so you must be confusing me with my father Rick. I have had similar experiences as he has with the fish being docile though. I’ve had them a few times and have mixed them in 4-6 foot tanks with various mbuna and other haps with no issues. This seems to be the case with most of the other hobbyists I’ve talked to that have kept this species. They are extremely active, but rather docile.

    You have to remember that each fish is an individual and will behave differently. For example, I’ve had Sunshine Peacocks (Aulonocara baenschi), a fish that is supposed to be one of the most mild Peacocks numerous times. One time I got a male that killed all other Sunshine Peacocks he was ever with (male or female) as well as various mbuna (including large Metriaclima kenyi and Labeotropheus) and larger, more aggressive Haplochromine types like Nimbochromis. At the same time, I’ve had Central American Cichlids that are considered fairly aggressive like Herichthys carpintis (Green Texas) and ‘Cichlasoma’ salvini that I’ve been able to keep and breed in the presence of Malawi Haps and Mbuna just because they were docile individuals of rather mean species (I would not recommend doing this though unless you really feel like you know how that individual fish will behave). You have to remember, not every individual fish is going to fit the mold of that species described online or in a book.

Leave a Reply

